• Headquarters: 1-781-935-3966



2011 Aptima Achievement Awards

2011 Aptima Achievement Awards

Aptima Achievement Awards Recognize 2011 Employee Accomplishments

Individuals, teams, and groups receive awards for exceptional performance, innovation, and leadership

Woburn, MA, December 14, 2011 – Aptima, Inc., a leader in human-centered engineering, presented its annual Achievement Awards on Friday, December 9, 2011. The Awards are meant to convey the company’s appreciation to individuals, teams, and groups of employees that perform above and beyond reasonable job expectation, contribute promising innovative ideas, or demonstrate exceptional leadership qualities. Nominations can be made by any Aptima employee and winners are selected by employee committees that change from year to year.

At this year’s ceremony, awards were distributed for Best Paper, Best Teamwork, Outstanding Initiative, and Best Technical Achievement, as well as for two new award categories: Innovative Patent Application and Best Mentor.

Best Paper

The Best Paper Award recognizes excellence in preparing written products that disseminate Aptima’s work to a broader audience beyond employees and the company’s immediate customers. This year’s Award went to Jared Freeman, Alex Walker, Matt Puglisi, Alexandra Geyer, Ryan Marceau, and Yale Marc for their paper entitled, “Cognitive and perceptual skills involved in Combat Hunter expertise: Exploratory evidence for a new training framework.” Presented at the 2011 Interservice/Industry Training, Simulation and Education Conference (I/ITSEC), this study not only demonstrates the need for a different training approach for combat profilers, but provides a method for doing so.

Best Teamwork

Andrea Amodeo, Jeanine Ayers, Dustin Burke, Nick Caler, Andy Chang, Courtney Dean, Jeff Jungemann, Kathy Kudzma, Ryan Marceau, Diane Miller, Stephanie Pratt, Krista Ratwani, Kristy Reynolds, Matt Roberts, Webb Stacy, Kevin Sullivan, Oleh Svirshchevsky, Mike Therrien, Mike Tolland, Alex Walker, Emily Wiese, and Zach Zuzack received the Best Teamwork Award, in recognition of their work over the past two years in supporting Aptima’s involvement in the development of the U.S. Navy’s new P-8A simulator.

The Best Teamwork Award recognizes cooperative groups that achieve Company goals or objectives of material value and quality by 1) pooling their complementary skills and knowledge, 2) holding each other personally responsible for doing their individual fair share of work, and 3) accepting mutual accountability for the ultimate outcome of their efforts.

Outstanding Initiative

Recognizing Aptima employees who pro-actively develop and successfully implement a new idea, this year’s Outstanding Initiative Award went to the Aptima Engineering Process Group – Isaac Jeppsen, Can Keskin, Diane Miller, Kristy Reynolds, Brian Riordan, Jason Sidman, and Seamus Sullivan – for their work on the CMMI (Capability Maturity Model Integration) Initiative.

CMMI is “a process improvement approach whose goal is to help organizations improve their performance and which can be used to guide process improvement across a project, a division, or an entire organization.”1 The Aptima Engineering Process Group, representing each of the four technical/scientific divisions within Aptima, produced a set of assessment results, as well as recommendations and a proposed FY12 work plan and budget for achieving a targeted CMMI Level proficiency by the end of CY12.

Best Technical Achievement

This Award is intended to acknowledge outstanding performance within the structure of ongoing projects in the area of research and development. This year’s winners were Aptima’s NETSTORM team: John Colonna-Romano, Jared Freeman, Caitlin Furjanic, Georgiy Levchuk, Jennifer Roberts, Oleh Svirshchevsky, and Mark Weston.

NETSTORM is being funded and developed for DARPA (Defense Advanced Research Project Agency) for its ‘GUARD-DOG’ program (Graph Understanding and Analysis for Rapid Detection–Deployed On the Ground). For more information, see the related story Aptima to Develop ‘NETSTORM’ for DARPA to Improve the Human Intelligence Cycle.

Mentor of the Year

Matthew Puglisi was named Mentor of the Year. This award recognizes an Aptima employee who pro-actively develops and is genuinely committed to an employee’s growth, development, and cultural integration into the organization.

Matt was recognized for taking an active role in the professional development of employees from across the company, ensuring that they get the experiences they need to do their jobs better, the guidance they need to get through difficult times, and the feedback they need to understand what they’ve done right and what they can improve on. In addition to his willingness to give credit to others and be always ready to volunteer his time and talents to his colleagues, he was recognized for consciously mentoring staff not only because it is good for the company, but because mentoring is good in and of itself.

Innovative Patent Application

Georgiy Levchuk and Nathan Schurr, and former employees Darby Grande Hering and Mitch Zakin, received the Innovative Patent Application Award for their patent entitled, “System and Methods of Power Management”. The Innovative Patent Application Award recognizes excellence in the area of research and development by an employee or a group of employees by acknowledging outstanding innovative inventions developed at Aptima. This innovative patent involves innovative algorithms that  manage power allocation to devices like smart phones based on forecasting user behaviors.