Blog Posts2018 Aptima Achievement Awards

2018 Aptima Achievement Awards

Aptima, Inc., the leading human-centered engineering company that applies expertise in the disciplines of how humans think, learn, and behave to solve challenges faced by the U.S. Department of Defense, announced today its Annual Achievement Awards. The Awards are meant to convey the company’s appreciation to individuals, teams, and groups of employees that perform above and beyond reasonable job expectation, contribute promising innovative ideas, or demonstrate exceptional leadership qualities. Nominations can be submitted by any Aptima employee and winners are selected by employee committees that change from year to year.

Best Paper

The Best Paper Award recognizes excellence in preparing written products that disseminate Aptima’s work to a broader audience beyond employees and the company’s immediate customers. This year’s Award went to Jeffrey M. Beaubien, Evan Oster, and Janet Spruill for their paper entitled, “Aligning Current VR/AR/MR Training with the Science of Learning,” presented at I/ITSEC 2018.

Best Teamwork

Aptima’s Best Teamwork Award recognizes cooperative groups that achieve Company goals or objectives of material value and quality by 1) pooling their complementary skills and knowledge, 2) holding each other personally responsible for doing their individual fair share of work, and 3) accepting mutual accountability for the ultimate outcome of their efforts. This year’s award went to two Aptima teams:

  • Doug Maxwell, Tara Kilcullen, Mike Knapp, Alex Wade, Courtney Dean, Mike Tolland, Deepak Sathyanarayan, Zach Kiehl, Alan Carlin, and Janet Spruill for the development, integration, and demonstration of Aptima’s measurement/assessment technologies in a leading-edge virtual gaming environment
  • Wendy Conry, Matt Troyer, Kerry McLaughlin, Mike Hislop, Kelly Wilkins and Dan Lecours for modernizing Aptima’s operations through company-wide implementation of new accounting software

Outstanding Initiative

Recognizing Aptima employees who pro-actively develop and successfully implement a new idea, this year’s Outstanding Initiative Award went to the following:

  • Zachary Kiehl for business development efforts in the area of physiological and biomechanical sensing/assessing
  • Evan Oster for Aptima’s Orlando Police Department Initiative

Best Technical Achievement

This Award is intended to acknowledge outstanding performance within the structure of ongoing projects in the area of research and development. This year’s winners are:

  • Kevin Durkee, Noah DePriest, Matthew Ewer, Zach Kiehl, Allen Shi, Aaron DeLory, Jared Dunn, and Kristy Reynolds for the Confined Spaces Monitoring System
  • Gabe Ganberg, Vinay Bharadwaj, Benjamin Hutchins, Rijvi Rajib, Diane Kramer, Nick Caler, and Angelica Smith for the FitForce Planner

Innovative Patent Application

The Innovative Patent Application Award recognizes excellence in the area of research and development by an employee or a group of employees by acknowledging outstanding innovative inventions developed at Aptima. This year’s winners were Georgiy Levchuk, Webb Stacy, and Charlotte Shabarekh for SYSTEM AND METHODS FOR NETWORK PATTERN MATCHING (NETSTORM CON1).

Mentor of the Year

The Mentor of the Year Award recognizes Aptima employees who pro-actively develop and are genuinely committed to employees’ growth, development, and cultural integration into the organization. This year’s winners were Aptima co-founder and Executive Vice President Margaret J. Clancy and Learning & Training Systems Division Director Dr. Krista Ratwani.