News Items2017 Aptima Awards

2017 Aptima Awards

Woburn, Mass. – January 8, 2018 – Aptima, Inc., the leading human-centered engineering company that applies expertise in the disciplines of how humans think, learn, and behave to solve challenges faced by the U.S. Department of Defense, announced today its Annual Achievement Awards. The Awards are meant to convey the company’s appreciation to individuals, teams, and groups of employees that perform above and beyond reasonable job expectation, contribute promising innovative ideas, or demonstrate exceptional leadership qualities. Nominations can be submitted by any Aptima employee and winners are selected by employee committees that change from year to year.

Mentor of the Year

For the first time since its inception, the Mentor of the Year Award was awarded to three Aptimists: Christopher E. Brouady, Vice President, Contracts; Michael Tolland, Director, Product Engineering Division; and Eric Watz, Chief Engineer. This award recognizes an Aptima employee who pro-actively develops and is genuinely committed to an employee’s growth, development, and cultural integration into the organization.

Best Paper

The Best Paper Award recognizes excellence in preparing written products that disseminate Aptima’s work to a broader audience beyond employees and the company’s immediate customers. This year’s Award went to Jeffrey M. Beaubien, Michael Knapp, Alexander Wade, Eric Watz, Webb Stacy, and Sterling L. Wiggins for their paper entitled, “Performance Measurement Considerations for Live, Virtual, and Constructive (LVC) Training,” presented at I/ITSEC 2017.

Best Teamwork

Aptima’s Best Teamwork Award recognizes cooperative groups that achieve Company goals or objectives of material value and quality by 1) pooling their complementary skills and knowledge, 2) holding each other personally responsible for doing their individual fair share of work, and 3) accepting mutual accountability for the ultimate outcome of their efforts. This year’s award went to two Aptima teams:

  • The MIDAS Team—Lisa Lucia, Laura Cassani, Tim Clark, Ben Nargi, Gabe Ganberg, Lisa Dang, Borys Vengerovskyi, Ben Hutchens, Angelica Smith, Vinay Bharadwaj, and Kristy Kay. —which is developing for the Office of the Naval Research the FitForce Planner and FitForce Mobile App. These tools will provide Force Fitness Instructors (FFIs), Athletic Trainers, Strength and Conditioning Coaches, and Individual Marines with the ability to generate individual and unit training plans/programs, track and estimate the risk of injury during training activities, and recommend mitigations and resources to reduce the risk of injury.*
  • The CultureReady Basics Team—Krista Ratwani, Zachary ZuZachary, Ben Nargi, Evan Oster, Julia Berger, Angelica Smith, and Tara Brown. In response to the need for an accessible, culture-general training program, the Defense Language and National Security Education Office (DLNSEO) funded CultureReady Basics, a web-based training tool that combines culture-general competencies with culture-specific knowledge and advanced language support to prepare the Total Force to be culture ready.*

Outstanding Initiative

Recognizing Aptima employees who pro-actively develop and successfully implement a new idea, this year’s Outstanding Initiative Award went to the following:

  • Charlotte Shabarekh for her work in Space Situational Awareness
  • Samantha Perry, Robert McCormack, Alexander Wade, and Eric Watz for their work in extending Aptima’s ACCRUE Platform for optimizing team and organizational performance

Best Technical Achievement

This Award is intended to acknowledge outstanding performance within the structure of ongoing projects in the area of research and development. This year’s winners are Aptima’s Beth Israel Deaconness Medical Center Team—Sylvain Bruni, Dan Howard, Lisa Dang, Danielle Ward, Angelica Smith, Diane Miller, and Zachary Zuzack—whose accomplishments include the MyICU App (see

Innovative Patent Application

The Innovative Patent Application Award recognizes excellence in the area of research and development by an employee or a group of employees by acknowledging outstanding innovative inventions developed at Aptima. This year’s winners were Sylvain Bruni and Lisa Lucia. Patent pending.

* Project description previously approved for public disclosure for I/ITSEC 2017.