Blog Posts2016 Achievement Awards

2016 Achievement Awards

Woburn, Mass. – December 19, 2016 – Aptima, Inc., a leader in human-centered engineering, presented its annual Achievement Awards on Friday, December 16, 2016. The Awards are meant to convey the company’s appreciation to individuals, teams, and groups of employees that perform above and beyond reasonable job expectation, contribute promising innovative ideas, or demonstrate exceptional leadership qualities. Nominations can be submitted by any Aptima employee and winners are selected by employee committees that change from year to year.

Kent Halverson

Mentor of the Year

Senior Scientist and Associate Division Director Kent C. Halverson was named Mentor of the Year. This award recognizes an Aptima employee who pro-actively develops and is genuinely committed to an employee’s growth, development, and cultural integration into the organization.

Best Paper

The Best Paper Award recognizes excellence in preparing written products that disseminate Aptima’s work to a broader audience beyond employees and the company’s immediate customers. This year’s Award went to Webb Stacy and Jared Freeman for their paper entitled, “Training Objective Packages: Enhancing the Effectiveness of Experiential Training,” presented at I/ITSEC 2016.

Best Teamwork

Aptima’s Best Teamwork Award recognizes cooperative groups that achieve Company goals or objectives of material value and quality by 1) pooling their complementary skills and knowledge, 2) holding each other personally responsible for doing their individual fair share of work, and 3) accepting mutual accountability for the ultimate outcome of their efforts. This year’s award went to Aptima’s DWST Team: Joseph Bennett, Chris Brouady, Alan Carlin, Alex Case, Joel D’Arrigo, Chris Hanna, Dan Howard, Mike Keeney, Diane Kramer, Diane Miller, Brent Nielson, David Perlaza, Tasia Rechisky, Kristy Reynolds, Renee Rigrish, Margaret Sampson, Angelica Smith, Chad Weiss. (See related story at USAF awards $12M Contract to Aptima to Develop Virtual Training System for Distributed Common Ground System.)

Outstanding Initiative

Recognizing Aptima employees who pro-actively develop and successfully implement a new idea, this year’s Outstanding Initiative Award went to Spencer Lynch, Kevin Durkee, and Sterling Wiggins for development and support of three-dimensional (3D), virtual reality (VR), and augmented reality (AR) technologies.

Best Technical Achievement

This Award is intended to acknowledge outstanding performance within the structure of ongoing projects in the area of research and development. This year’s winners are Aptima’s ACCRUE Army Warfighting Assessment (AWA) Team: Joseph Bennett, Tara Brown, Matthew Ewer, Avi Hiriyanna, Zach Kiehl, Bob McCormack, Kara Orvis, Samantha Perry, and Alexander Wade.

Innovative Patent Application

The Innovative Patent Application Award recognizes excellence in the area of research and development by an employee or a group of employees by acknowledging outstanding innovative inventions developed at Aptima. This year’s winners were Jeff Beaubien, Noah DePriest, and John Feeney for development of ACLAMATE: Automated Cognitive Load Assessment.